Tourism Department

Tourism Department: Kumaun University

The Department of Tourism was established in the year 1979 under the guidance of Kumaun University, Nainital with the vision to open new horizons for the youths of the states to undertake tourism as a means of employment and economy generation. Initially the department started with a PG Diploma Program in Tourism. The year 2010 witnessed launching of the master degree level tourism program entitled Master of Business Administration Tourism (MBA Tourism), to keep-up with the pace of the changing scenario of the tourism industry and to prepare the students as future professional in the field of tourism in India and Abroad. From the academic session July 2016, The Department is launching 4- Year degree program of Bachelor of Hotel Management (BHM) course. Looking into the demand of the market as well as focusing on the youth of the state the department is going to launch graduate level degree programme Bachelor of Business Administration-Tourism and Hospitality Management (BBA T&HM) from the academic session 2013. Course Structure of M.B.A Tourism:- The Master of Business Administration Tourism is a two year full time programme divided into four semesters and the study modules are as follows: - RESEARCH DEGREE PROGRAM:Department has constituted its Research Degree Committee by 2011 and thirteen research scholars have been admitted in the department in different academic sessions from 2011 to 2014. PG DIPLOMA IN TOURISM AND HOSPITALITY(One Year Full Time):The department is running 1 year full time P.G. Diploma in Tourism program with a total intake of 30. M.B.A TOURISM(Two Years Full-Time, Semester System):Seeing the growth of the Tourism sector in India, the department has taken initiative to organize 2 year full-time Masters in Business Administration- Tourism program (MBA Tourism) from the academic session 2010 with the intake of 30 students and with almost 100% placement record. BACHELOR OF HOTEL MANAGEMENT (BHM)(Four Years Full-Time, Semester System):Launching 4-Year degree program of Bachelor of Hotel Management (BHM) course from academic session July 2016. BHM- program with a total intake of 40.


DSB Campus Nainital