Econimics Department

Econimics Department: Kumaun University

Department of Economics at Kumaun University Campus Nainital came into being in 1951, with the setting up of the DSB Government College (Now a Campus of Kumaun University). However, the department of Economics at Kumaun University Campus Almora started functioning much earlier. The Department ever since its inception, has had the distinction of being associated with teachers of illustrious career and extra ordinary academic background. The founder head of the department Dr. S. G. Tewari was a National Income Accounting expert in the UNO team before joining the department. Later he was taken as Chief of National Income Unit of Planning Commission. The persons he who followed him in the chair excelled in their own ways. Dr. K. N. Srivastava, a veteran Labour Economist, Dr. Maya Ram, a great Public Finance theoretician, Dr. K. D. Upadhyay, an exponent of Economic Theory and Dr. P. P. Elhance was a teacher of Statistical Analysis par excellence. All of these academicians nourished and reared up the department from its infancy to mature adulthood. Dr. D. N. Agarwal who was associated with the Department right from the beginning also served as the first ever selected Professor and Head of the Department. In that capacity he not only laid the foundation of the Department in the new outfit of the university culture but also shared the responsibility of formulating the courses and promoting Ph. D. researches. Before joining over as Professor, he also served as the first Registrar of the University and was responsible for framing the University’s Acts and Statutes. His students of all times always remember him for his excellent eloquence on Economic Thought. Dr. Elhance during whose tenure students’ performance in the university examination was outstanding, succeeded Professor Agarwal. Prof. G. C. Pande and Prof. P. C. Pande were selected as the two worthy Professors of the Department in 1989. Prof. G. C. Pande acted as the Head of the Department from 1989 to 1998 till his retirement. He also worked as Dean of the Arts Faculty for one term. He supervised research of a number of students and carried out research projects. His project on Adult Education sponsored by the Uttar Pradesh Govt., is a Landmark. Prof. P. C. Pande took over as the Head of the Department from Prof. G. C. Pande in 1998. He holds more than one strategically important offices besides functioning as the Head of the Department. He was also Pro Vice – Chancellor of the University and Dean Arts Faculty. In all these capacities the contribution of Prof. P. C. Pande in the university building process led by our Hon’ble Vice – Chancellor Prof. B. S. Rajput is very significant. Prof. Pandey was a specialist of Economic Thought. After Prof. P.C. Pande’s retirement in 2002 Prof. D.C. Pande took over the Campus Head of the Department. He served as head of the Campus Department from 2002 to 2005 till his retirement. Thereafter Dr. Nirmala Bora headed the Campus Department till July 2009. Dr. R.S. Jalal remained Campus Head from August 2009 till June, 2012. In July, 2012 Prof. L.S. Bisht (Unviersity Head of the Department) joined from Almora Campus and took change of Head Economics and Dean, Arts Faculty. In October, 2012, the policy of rotational headship came into effect and consequently Prof. Nirmala Bora took charge of University Head of Department for three years i.e. 10-10-2012 to 09-10-2015 followed by Prof. R.S. Jalal on 10-10-2015 and presently, Prof. Padam S. Bisht is University Head, Department of Economics, since 10-10-2018 and also the Convener of Board of Studies and Research Degree Committee, Kumaun University, Nainital.